New Hobbyist in Northwest Italy

cohenkin

Sapling
Reaction score
Hello. I am a complete beginner in this hoppy. Ihave been interested in growing bonsai for many years, but I now have the time to seriously devote myself to this endeavor. I was wondering if there are any clubs in this area. I live an hour southwest of Torino (Turn) and have plenty of time to attend meetings. Alternatively, does anyone know of any clubs anywhere that meet virtually?

Right now, I have started with my first tree, a Ficus retusa. For now, I am trying to stick with indoor specimens, though that will change as the weather improves. Does anyone have a suggestion for my second bonsai? The room it will be grown in is warm (about 75 F or 24 C). It has a large westwardly facing window which affords good direct sunlight all afternoon. I also have a 1000 lumen grow light running 12 hours a day. Because of the heat, the roon has low humidity so I have to water frequently. I'll try to answer any questions you may have. Thanks for your help! Sam

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
Ficus is a great choice for a first indoor tree and welcome!

Lutonian

Chumono
Reaction score
Luton, East Anglia, England, Great Britain
USDA Zone
9a
Hi @cohenkin welcome to the forum im not sure about clubs near you as i am in England, but this link has a interactive map of clubs in the world including Italy no sure how up to date it is though https://www.bonsaiempire.com/locations/clubs
There are lots of great bonsai coming out of Italy. ficus is a great choice as for your second tree if you have outside space I would go for an olive surely every Italian bonsai practitioner should own olive as every good English man should own an English oak. 😊

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome,

I not all that familiar with clubs in Italy, but there are some incredible bonsai artists and sellers there. Luigi Crespi has been a notable bonsaiist there for some time