New Japanese Maple, when to chop? And other inquiries... (Acer palmatum 'Shaina')

Cypress

Shohin
Reaction score
So I picked this Acer palmatum 'Shaina' up at a nursery yesterday. I chose it since the trunk split relatively low, about 8" up. The 'Shaina' has comparitavely very small leaves and incredibly dense foliage so I thought it would be a great subject for my first Maple (the denser the foliage the more I can screw up!).

I am completely new to Bonsai and wanted to get everyone's opinion on a few questions I have, partly because I keep reading conflicting information...

1. When should I chop the trunk? I've read that for maples you should do it in early spring before the buds break, but then also read this is bad since the sap an leak out and cause dieback and that you should do it in autumn? Confused.

2. I want to do 2 initial chops, first chop the thicker of the two trunks at the trunk split since I figured leaving the thinner one would give a nicer taper, and second would like to chop that thinner trunk further up and use a smaller branch as a leader to provide even more taper. Which chop should I mike first?

3. What should I do for the time being? Would you suggest I plant it in the ground for this summer to thinken the trunk? And if so, should I trim any of the roots when I do that?

THANK YOU all!

Beautiful specimen:
photo_5.jpg

Trunk split about 8 inches up trunk:
photo_7.jpg

View from other side:
photo_8.jpg

Nebari have some potential:
photo_3.jpg

Cypress

Shohin
Reaction score
Perhaps I could do an air layer just below where the trunk splits for a double trunk maple? Any thoughts on this?

marcosolo

Mame
Reaction score
Looks like a graft

and taking layers of some cultivars results in a sickly tree or, inevitably, a dead tree.....DON"T BUY GRAFTED TREES!!!!!! .....

Best thing to do is-

A.-Plant it in the ground, and it'll look pretty