New JBP Seedlings for shohin

CrisisM0de

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello again every body!

I was finally able to purchase a couple JBP seedlings from Adam's Bonsai and received them this weekend. I think I must still be returning to normalcy from quarantine because there presence in the mail was probably the highlight of my weekend.

I slip potted them into a conifer mix last night... I didn't realize they would arrive in such a small amount of soil and, sadly, I was not prepared. Pond baskets sold out everywhere and soil fell right through the colander; I had to go with terra cotta, but I suppose that may look nicer anyway.

IMG_4068.jpgIMG_4071.jpgIMG_4072.jpg

First, winter. I am getting nervous about it as this is my first year with bonsai, my research started late summer. I expect I will kill trees, but I really, really don't want to kill them by screwing up winter. I have 5 other trees, 3 in nursery pots (dawn redwood, boxwood, mugo, scots, and an 4 year~ JBP). My plan for those was either an unlit, attached garage, or an upright plastic tote set on the ground with the trees mulched in. I am not sure if one is better than the other (safer)? I am curious if seedlings need a specific plan, or if they can be tossed in with the other 5 trees?

Second, I was wondering about the bar branch on the left seedling. I know the tops of these trees will be sacrificed, but that bar branch seems low enough to possibly be part of the tree. Is the removal of this next spring or the following spring ideal? I don't want reverse taper to develop from that bar branch... right?

My initial plan for these seedlings was to develop them as shohin. I have read the 'alternative approach' on Bonsai Tonight a few times and plan to use this approach for wiring:

cu.jpg

I have also browsed Google Images quite a bit as I looked for inspiration and perhaps that is getting ahead of myself, but I love these 2 trees: