New looking for guidance

JVal

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I'm new to bonsai. Ive been reading the forums quite a bit in the past week or so. Ive read a few times now that usually your first attempt is a failure. I'm starting to worry about whether or not this little guy is going to survive. It looks healthy now and I want to keep it that way. Thought I'd post a few pics and see what some of you more experienced guys think. Maybe some suggestions/tips.

Attachments

• 20170524_112330.jpg
    20170524_112330.jpg
    309.1 KB · Views: 39
  • 20170524_112354.jpg
    20170524_112354.jpg
    311.6 KB · Views: 39
  • 20170524_112341.jpg
    20170524_112341.jpg
    362.7 KB · Views: 37
  • 20170524_112415.jpg
    20170524_112415.jpg
    361.8 KB · Views: 41

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Welcome!

If you want it to live keep it outside 24/7/365. Never bring it inside ever.

JVal

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Welcome!

If you want it to live keep it outside 24/7/365. Never bring it inside ever.

Outside in pot or is it better off planted in ground? It's in a sunroom in a corner surrounded by windows.

Underdog

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I've killed one of those! LOL By keeping in inside only in winter. Died next year.
Nice sunroom for tropicals but as posted above this Juniper needs winter. Needs outside. Mulched in pot against north side of house foundation over winter. Trust these guys who know. I'd have a few more trees if I had in the past.
Oh and welcome to the forum!

plant_dr

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone