New Mugo

Damage Inc

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I wrote all this, made the sketch, decided to mind my own bees wax, went to delete the response and then said to myself F-It why not push REPLY so here it goes...

First off I'm no expert and a complete newb but with that disclaimer done, I think it looks pretty cool the way it sits right now. The secondary branching with foliage could be repositioned a bit when the tree has settled in after your latest round of work but again it looks very interesting. 👍

Not sure if that first lower section of horizontal trunk could be split, bent to then raise/level (or "more" leveled out staying away for complete dead level) the upper trunk section. Second disclaimer is that's way more advanced work than I would take on right now with my limited skill set. Still, that might balance things out a bit. I know "compact" is a good trait but something says opening up that middle section will allow you to develop a better and more prominent apex from the upper trunk section, middle right.
IMG-20230410-WA0041.jpeg
Maybe changing the potting angle more to the right would achieve some of the balance if rotated, OR get crazy by changing planting angle way left to almost a semi-cascade. Maybe you already looked at this and the roots/nebari don't leave you much option for changing the angle.

Hey, I got lots of ideas... not all of them are good ideas though...

I said above, I really like it as it sits right now and this is me killing time at work and thinking out loud.

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b

bonsai-max

Shohin
Reaction score
Hi,
thank you for the appreciation and the good ideas.
I know more or less how to manage a Mugo, Scott pine style but more gently, and I am mostly look for an advice about the design.