New Old Guy

eminart

Seed
Reaction score
I got into bonsai 15+ years ago, but haven't been active in a long time. I was, apparently, a member here (guessed my login info on the second attempt, yay!) and some other forums that may or may not still exist. Anyway, all my trees were lost to various moves, and life changes. Most of what I had was still planted in the ground.

Enough rambling, I've started getting back into it. I'm no expert, but I have a lot of books, and several years' experience with trying. I got a couple of ficus microcarpa for Xmas. They're obviously mass produced, but they're from Wigert's, and, I think, decent stock.

I guess the main point of this thread is I'm wondering how elaborate a setup I'd need to grow larger trunks indoors. I'm in Alabama, so we have a pretty long outdoor growing season. But, it would be nice to continue growth during the winter.

Also, I have Jerry Meislik's first ficus book. Is the newer one a must-have?

Attachments

• 20220101_142430.jpg
    20220101_142430.jpg
    244.3 KB · Views: 58

eminart

Seed
Reaction score
Thanks for the replies. Wigert's was definitely great to work with, and I'm very happy with the two trees I got from them.

I'll definitely get the new ficus book. I'm something of a book hoarder. I got a signed copy (I think they're all signed?) of his first book when it was new. I discussed ficus with him a little back in the day via messages. I'll have to get the first book out and read back through it. I've forgotten a lot of the little I used to know.

Anyway, just excited to be back in the hobby. We moved last year so now I have 2.5 acres with a few trees I've already picked out for collecting, and plenty of room for the small greenhouse I've always wanted. I'd like to grow some greens for my tortoises in addition to trees, but that's another story.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I reckon I seen Tortoises eat Ficus Benjamin.

Welcome to Crazy!