New Shimpaku - help with choosing a front

Adrian

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi all,

I acquired this Juniper Shimpaku a little while back for a very good price (see photos below). As a relative beginner my judgement was that it was quite a nice little tree. Certainly one that I could develop over time. I haven’t done anything with this tree save looking after it and doing some very preliminary wiring. I know it is very messy and needs work.

Anyway, at this early stage I have two issues which are somewhat interrelated. Firstly, the foliage has mostly grown on one side of the tree (see Photo 1). At the same time, the best root spread is concentrated on the other side of the tree. So in essence, if I chose the front to be the side with the best root spread as the front, I am left with less foliage to work with (see Photo 2). Conversely, if I chose the front to be the one with the better foliage, I am left with a gap in the root spread. I know that the roots are the basis of a good bonsai and I understand that, its wether I can work with the sparse foliage on that side. the last two photos are of the base and roots from both sides of the tree.
Can anyone give any helpful thoughts/ideas/advice on my dilemma?
Thanks in advance
Adrian

Possible front.jpg = front?

0061.jpg = back

062.JPG

Nebari Juniper.jpg

Last edited:

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I don't see the dilema. Photo 2 (your back) should be the front because of the strong base and nebari, and it appears you have better trunk movement from that angle. You can then wire the branches to bring the foliage toward that front, that is one reason we wire afterall (to move foliage where needed).

I recommend you take this to a club or a professional that can help you (and hopefully teach you) with this process. They should also be able to help you trim/thin the foliage before it gets too far away from the trunk.

Ang3lfir3

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b