New to Bald Cypress

Newbietoredwood

Sapling
Reaction score
Bald Cypress growing very well. My first full season with this species. I can see two types of growth. The feathery soft growth which I assume will be shed in Autumn and a coarser growth with central ribs that are beginning to redden. Are these the beginnings of ramification into fine branching for the future? And can I shorten this coarse growth or will that make it shed in the Winter? I am using my knowledge of dawn redwoods here although I know different species. Balds are SO similar to redwoods I'm amazed they are are classified differently.

dbonsaiw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I'm no expert, but some thoughts - bald cypress are deciduous conifers, so they will lose their leaves in the fall regardless of what you do or don't do. Ramification is created by cutting and re-growing. The goal is to prune back a branch to a fork and then grow that out. Cut each of those two to get 4, 4 to get 8 etc. over many seasons. The branch can ramify on its own as it grows naturally, but that will not have the proportions one is looking for in bonsai.

Newbietoredwood

Sapling
Reaction score
Thanks! This photo shows the two types of growth I was talking about. It shows both the feathery soft growth and the growth which is showing signs of lignification.

Attachments

• A83AFB26-B310-400E-8E99-404187C9410C.jpeg
    A83AFB26-B310-400E-8E99-404187C9410C.jpeg
    146.3 KB · Views: 58
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
I use the rule: If it's not lignified and if it doesn't have branches, it's still just a leaf and will be gone in the winter, so if you want to keep it, let it grow first before pruning it.

Newbietoredwood

Sapling
Reaction score
I use the rule: If it's not lignified and if it doesn't have branches, it's still just a leaf and will be gone in the winter, so if you want to keep it, let it grow first before pruning it.