New To Bonsai And I Am Looking For An Identification And Some Advice

Naomanos

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi everyone! I am new to the world of Bonsai, but have been somewhat fascinated with the art since my childhood. I am hoping that I will be able to do what it is that I am looking to do with my Bonsai tree.

First, I am hoping that my conditions inside my home are good for this tree. We live in an apartment with no back porch/deck, or outside windowsills, but in the back where we pretty much have the sun from right before noon till dusk depending on the time of year. Needless to say, we gets lots of sunlight and have plenty of indirect sunlight throughout the house. Our apartment temps go from around 78-80 during the day to 73-74 during the night normally. Currently, we have the A/C lowered all day long since my wife is pregnant and the anything above 74 is a bit too hot for her. It will go back to the 78-80 in a month or two.

I am also hoping to get an identification on the type of Bonsai that I purchased yesterday. I know that I probably did wrong by buying from Home Depot, but my wife is not one for spending money on hobbies, so I was limited in what I can spend and had an extra $20 to spare... lol.

Here are some pictures of varying angles:

Bonsai 1.jpg

Bonsai 3.jpg

Bonsai 5.jpg

Bonsai 8.jpg

Bonsai 10.jpg

I am going to post one more picture in a reply to this thread as I can only post 5 photos per post.

Naomanos

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Continued...

What I would like to do with my tree is in the following picture:

CT2007GGF.jpg

If it is possible, how would I go about doing this with my tree?

Any other advice that you may have would be greatly appreciated.

mat

Chumono
Reaction score
You have a Tiger Bark Ficus microcarpa. The image in your second post seems like a reasonable goal.