New to Bonsai and rescued

Simmo1981

Seed
Reaction score
Hi all, hope you can help me, I am totally new to Bonsai's. I rescued a Bonsai tree from a skip which looked pretty dead but u thought I'd try, over the last few weeks it has started to grow leaves, which I am really happy about, however I really don't know what to do next, do I need to prune it, leave it or what. I have looked on line and believe it is a chinese elm, maybe 5/6 years old at a big guess. I Water it when soil is dry at top it is keep in the corner of one of my rooms gets morning sunshine. I leave in a flat so have no outdoor space. Any and all help, tips and hints would be greatly appreciated. Steve

Attachments

• 20220109_092537.jpg
    20220109_092537.jpg
    117.4 KB · Views: 100
  • 20220109_092441.jpg
    20220109_092441.jpg
    228.3 KB · Views: 99
  • 20220109_092420.jpg
    20220109_092420.jpg
    228.9 KB · Views: 101

TinyArt

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome! And how wonderful it is to see your rescued tree leafing out under your care -- so many folks write because their first trees are having a rough go of it. My best guess is that you are in the UK, so I'd say pick up a copy of Bonsai Basics, by Colin Lewis. (He says quite plainly that you CAN keep Chinese Elm indoors, BTW.) Best Wishes!

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Leave it, let it get strong, remove the dead parts when it's strong and then decide on what to prune and what to keep.
If you can put it near a south facing window, it'll probably be happier in the long run.

Nice save and welcome to the team!

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Welcome to crazy!

If you can update your profile with your approximate location and/or USDA growing zone it'll help us know exactly what your seasons are like, and you'll get more specific advice.