New to bonsai, check out my trees

Ruve

Seedling
Reaction score
Recently I acquired this obsession, I mean hobby, a few months ago.

I'm an avid researcher and have a particular personality. I present my trees as they are currently for your viewing pleasure.

I have a few that I've worked on and some that are awaiting my guidance.

I'm particularly enjoying the boxwood (the brown dots are seals on cuts), as with all these trees, they are bought from stores like home depot and Menards. I spent a lot of time selecting them going through my criteria of trunk, nebari, movement, character and health.

My soil composition: akadama, pumice and sphagnum peat moss, even for the azalea.

The smaller pots on the left are cuttings which have rooting hormone powder applied and potted in sphagnum peat moss with lots of ventilation.

So, enjoy and all feedback is welcome.

Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_20210401_123757.jpg
    IMG_20210401_123757.jpg
    201.7 KB · Views: 133
  • IMG_20210401_125711.jpg
    IMG_20210401_125711.jpg
    143.4 KB · Views: 114
  • IMG_20210401_125703.jpg
    IMG_20210401_125703.jpg
    173.9 KB · Views: 106
  • IMG_20210328_211345.jpg
    IMG_20210328_211345.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 102
  • IMG_20210328_211338.jpg
    IMG_20210328_211338.jpg
    83.6 KB · Views: 124

Ruve

Seedling
Reaction score
Update: got my Japanese juniper cascade ready to be grown in today. Basic structure complete, repotted and will make the final major cut on the material next year.

In regards to the pot. It's a common garden white pot that I purchased for $17. I stained it with brown shoe polish and a wash with some paint. Worked like a charm. It now has character style and age to accompany the tree.

Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_20210401_201019.jpg
    IMG_20210401_201019.jpg
    106 KB · Views: 72

misfit11

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b