New to bonsai - help with this eugenia?

mmp77

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hello everyone! I've been browsing and researching bonsai for a few months or so now. So far, I'm managed not to kill (it's early, I know) 2 ficus microcarpas (1 big and 1 small), 3 fukien teas (1 big, 1 small, and 1 tiny I purchased to try the root over rock method), a dwarf jade (medium). I've gotten to the point where I've mapped out most of the nurseries around my work and home and intentionally plan my trips to and from work around them just to go look. This is all so fascinating. Anytime I've come across a neat looking specimen, one of the first things I've done is pulled out my phone and typed "[name of specimen] bonsai nut" to see what you all have to say. Thanks for being such an awesome resource!

Now, searching for this gorgeous (to me anyway) eugenia, I came across a lot of good information - mostly that, yes, it will bonsai. It's huge and the trunk is what attracted me to it. I got it for $40 from a family-owned plant shop and was told by the owner that this was a eugenia (mytrifolia?). It was pruned into a globe and looking at it for the past we days, I decided I wanted to go for an upright style. I removed a lot of dead woody stems and cut back a lot of the lower twiggy branches to open up the bottom. There was one low branch I've left based on everything I've read about a sacrifice branch in hopes it will help further thicken the trunk. I have not repotted it since purchasing it because I got the impression from everything I've read that I should perhaps wait till the spring at which point I was thinking of either slip potting it or putting it in a grow bag or box.

At this point, I'm not sure what to do and I'd love to get everyone's thoughts on that (and even thoughts on what I've done already, i.e. messed up already). I've attached pics from various angles in hopes of capturing all of it. Thanks!