New to bonsai; here's my pomegranate!

hierophant

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hi folks! I'm new to bonsai since ~December. I live in southern Wisconsin but will be moving to southern Louisiana soonish.

I've got a few smaller trees (redwood, sequoia, dwarf juniper, dwarf almond) but my favorite is my dwarf pomegranate.

She got her first pruning yesterday: some lower stuff, most importantly a bottom left branch parallel to the bottom right branch; some thinning-out at the top, which I'll continue to pinch now that I have an idea of her shape.

I'm going to re-pot her in good bonsai soil once her next phase pot (larger and round, glazed dark red) arrives.

I'd be grateful for thoughts about shape/wiring.

Nice to meet you all! :)

17425891_848192927947_4529673713679672521_n.jpg

Reaction score
I think you need to let it grow unrestricted for a few years so it can get a thicker trunk. If you constrain its growth, either via pruning or keeping in a small pot, it wont thicken much...

bonhe

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
That's good to know (and part of why a wider pot: I want her trunk to thicken!)

Thanks!
Hi Hierophant,
Welcome to the hobby! I agree with Gustavo.
If you just want to enjoy it as it is now, it is fine; otherwise, you need to let it grow big and strong before you prune it. You can wire the trunk now if you like.
One more thing: the spring is not a good time to prune pomegranate. If you do it, the tree health may be negatively affected!
Good luck .
Bonhe

hierophant

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Thank you all for the warm welcome and info! I'll definitely let it grow some before pruning again (and I'll prune later in the year! :) )

When I do repot, is spring alright? And should I trim the roots at all?

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hi H.