New to Bonsai, looking to grow from Seeds

JimJam35

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7ab
hello out there Bonsai world,

i am new to Bonsai and i am looking for a little help and maybe be pointed in the right direction. i recently ordered a package of 4 types of Maple seeds (Trident maple, Amur Maple, Japanese maple, and Acer palmatum 'Atropurpreum') i have been doing extensive reading and research on Bonsai for the past few weeks. I live on Long Island New York where i saw that maples are in the correct "zone" for growing. i am wondering if it is currently just starting summer here, when i receive the seeds should i start the process of germinating and stratifying?? Any information on this topic would be greatly appreciated, also down the road i know i am going to have to buy proper tools of the trade, if anyone has an idea of what starter tools are good to purchase please let me know. any tips or tricks will be greatly appreciated also

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome!!

Check your PM.

The only tool I find that is really necessary is the 8" concave cutter. I love my Joshua Roth (middle of the road price wise) but gets the job done.

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
To honestly point you in the right direction, I'd advise NOT starting with seeds. You will not be doing bonsai for five or six years, perhaps longer when you start with seeds. It is a VERY long road and you're not guaranteed to have anything to work with at the end of it.

That said, if you're dead set on starting with seed. Plant them out now AND get some already containerized juniper, maple or other species to actually do "bonsai" on...

If you start with seeds, you will not need bonsai tools for at least five years or more. You can do all the light work necessary on seedlings with plain old scissors.

Last edited:

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b