New to Bonsai!!! Need Help Identifying

siddtox

Seed
Reaction score
Hi I am new to bonsai and got this from a friend. Can someone help identify:

1. What type of tree this is (I am leaning between Fig and Ficus) but could be completely wrong
2. The tree i think is in poor condition since all the leaves are on just one branch, so what can I do to save it/ improve its condition?
3. Can this be saved/ worth the effort?

Thanks

Attachments

• Bonsai 1.jpg
    Bonsai 1.jpg
    139.4 KB · Views: 42
  • Bonsai 2.jpg
    Bonsai 2.jpg
    154.5 KB · Views: 40

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
Lovely Ginseng ficus. Ficus microcarpa grafted on top. I would say, more sun. Outside sun.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Ficus is the proper name for fig so you are correct in both cases.
Ficus growth habit is to grow long branches with increasingly large leaves. To make it branch out you must prune the long branches. Pruning long branches will also help smaller ones grow stronger.
It looks like the rootstock has sprouted a shoot which will grow much faster and bigger than the part which is grafted on top. To save the grafted top you will need to remove that lower branch completely. Some people have elected to grow the lo branch and remove the grafted top. That choice is up to you.
It looks quite healthy so you just need to decide which part to keep then feed and water well to get good growth.

Whether it is worth the effort depends whether you like the look of those bulbous roots.............

Reactions: R0b

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I'm unclear on these Ginseng Figs. Why do they exist? All of the plants that I see here have a crappy top that is a remnant of a grafted top and/or the top has died and foliage is growing out of the root. What are they suppose to look like?

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b