New to bonsai - Saying hello

RG81

Seed
Reaction score
Just wanted to say Hi as I am new to the bonsai world. I recently purchased a juniper and elm bonsai to start my new quest. I am located in Bethel CT and look forward to being part of this forum. I have long been into the Saltwater hobby and most recently decided to take on the bonsai hobby as well. After quite a bit of research I settled on on the juniper and Chinese elm bonsai. Both trees are roughly 10-15 years old. I will post some pictures in the coming days and look forward to being a part of the forum.

Thanks

Rich

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome Rich.
Sounds like when you researched you did it well. The 2 trees you bought are some of the best for beginners and advanced bonsai practitioners alike.
Can't wait to see the pictures.
Once again welcome.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Welcome. Just FYI, both may have come from the vendor marked "indoor trees" but both will do better for you outside, though the elm especially will need some winter protection.

RG81

Seed
Reaction score
Welcome. Just FYI, both may have come from the vendor marked "indoor trees" but both will do better for you outside, though the elm especially will need some winter protection.

My plan is to keep them outside and eventually bring them inside for the winter. What's the best practice for this ? How long should I leave them out in the fall so they can get winterized ?

RG81

Seed
Reaction score
Welcome Rich.
Sounds like when you researched you did it well. The 2 trees you bought are some of the best for beginners and advanced bonsai practitioners alike.
Can't wait to see the pictures.
Once again welcome.

Thanks

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
My plan is to keep them outside and eventually bring them inside for the winter. What's the best practice for this ? How long should I leave them out in the fall so they can get winterized ?