New to bonsai - Unplanted and clueless

Sternbigfoot30

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
Hello all. I'm new to bonsai and even newer to this community. I've been looking through these threads and you guys all seem to be very informative and helpful, but I see very few posts regarding starting bonsai from seed. I'm very excited to be starting this journey BUT I have no idea what I'm doing.

So that being said can you guys give me some advice and in addition perhaps some resources to help me along the way?
I purchased a bonsai planting kit off of Amazon from a seller named garden republic, initially I was concerned about the quality but to my relief it seems to be adequate. (I can fill in with photos later if it would help)

Anyway. This kit came with seeds from four different breeds of baby trees, as following

Black spruce - picea Mariana
Brazilian rosewood - jacaranda mimosifolia
Flame tree - delonix regia
Bristlecone pine - pinus aristata

I live in NE Florida, it's very hot and humid. Can you guys give me any info on these plants, germination process, indoor/outdoor, how long to give sun, frequency of watering. I'm also not sure if I'm going to plant all four at the same time. likely not. Any tips on which to start with would be helpful.

TLDR: I'm going to plant bonsai and I don't know how.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Pics of the seed might get to em ID'd .

Sometimes they aren't the advertised seed.

Did you get a few of each?

I'd plant half em now.

Sorce

Traken

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Welcome aboard!