New to bonsai would like some feedback on a Tecome capensis (Cape Honeysuckle)

boratjan

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi guys my first post on this site (or any Bonsai site for that matter). I have always liked Bonsai but this is my first year trying to make my own trees (mainly from garden centre stock). I Chopped up this Tecome capensis (Cape Honeysuckle) it is native to South Africa where I live. Tell me if the branching structure looks fine and or if there is anything I should plan for the tree in the future.

Thanks

JanDSC01616.jpg

jason biggs

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11a
sounds like you live in a cool country:cool: honeysuckle is not a great bonsai subject + will always look like a bush.Iwould start with a ficus [natal fig, red leaf rockfig or common wild fig] or acacia [galpinii or burkei].Buy something a few years old,cut the main stem right back + leave the roots for the first few months.the time is RIGHT NOW.....

boratjan

Seedling
Reaction score
Thanks for the advice though the garden centres in the area I live lack ficus plants. I can easily get trident maples, privet, firethorn, cotoneaster also some junpiter horizontalis( dont know if its any good?) and such. How hard would these types of trees/ plants be?

bonsai barry

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have grown several of these honeysuckle for bonsai. I might offer these considerations:
1) Repotting in the Spring. The soil most often used in in bonsai is very quick draining without as much organic material as is usually found in potting soil. You can find a lot of ideas about bonsai potting soils on the Internet. Also, I think it might need to be planted a bit deeper in the pot although it is hard to tell in the photo.