New to Bonsai .....

BonsaiGuyNJ

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am a Newbie to Bonsai, and I live in New Jersey, and have just purchased 3 bonsai - Wisteria, Bougainvillae, and Azalea. I've been watching lots of videos on YouTube and reading alot on the Internet. My initial question has to do with "Over-wintering" the bonsai. The Wisteria I think has to be outdoors for the winter, and I'm still try

SouthernMaple

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Well I live in NE Georgia and the problem I have with wintering my bonsai is that I overthink it. People say all sorts of things and I feel like there is no definitive information other than experience. I have been doing bonsai now for 3 years now and deciduous trees need to go into hibernation every winter, last two years when it gets real cold I put them in an unheated closet and leave them alone for 3-4 weeks with no to low sunlight. I read if you don't let them do this they will die. I have also been told its ok for the soil to freeze once or twice a year, but my winters are nothing compared to yours. The nights it gets real cold I usually just put them in a plastic tub and put an old pair of blue jeans on them. Sounds weird I know but it works. I also only water them once a week in the winter.

BonsaiGuyNJ

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thanks for the reply. I actually have only owned one other Bonsai .....it was a Wisteria. I placed in my shed, I guess I did not insulate the pot/bonsai enough and the pot broke, exposed the roots, the bonsai died. I don't want to make the same mistake with this one. I do have an unheated bedroom closet - but the Temps remain only at
about 55-degrees, and I don't think that is cold enough for Wisteria. So I'm gonna have to put it back out into the shred, but like you mentioned, I'm going to have to put it in a plastic tub (do I need to use the lid??) and cover the plant/pot with Mulch. What do you think ?

queenofsheba52

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone