New to Durham NC, how to acclimate trees

clevetromba

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi, any members around Durham NC, I am seeking advice on how to acclimate my trees to that climate. I am moving from Cleveland Ohio (zone 5-6) to Durham in mid-July, I know it's probably a terrible time for the trees to get moved. Does anyone have specific advice on how to care for trees in that area? Also, does anyone more generally have experience moving a bonsai collection, and how to safely transport the trees? I have the following species: Norway Spruce, Zelkova, Kingsville Boxwood, American Hornbeam, Mugo Pine, Privet, and Crepe Myrtle.

Thanks!

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
At that time of year, I don't think there will be much difference between the climate of Ohio and North Carolina. Milder winters in NC, certainly, but the summers are probably pretty similar.

I am not an expert on moving trees, but the only time I have had to move with a large number, I simply stacked them all up in a rental van. The drive from Cleveland to Raleigh can be done in a single day, so most trees won't notice a change as long as you have somewhere to set them up when you arrive.

clevetromba

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I actually think the summers are quite a bit hotter in NC. My family members who have moved there in recent years have said it's beastly hot compared to Cleveland. Maybe that's just their subjective evaluation? Could be.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
I moved a 26 foot moving van full of trees from southeastern Massachusetts to North Georgia on the hottest day of the year back in 2009… June 25 to the 26th. It was 96°. The trees didn’t skip a beat. You might provide some afternoon shade for any of the deciduous trees, but that’s all you’ll probably need to do

JoeR

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a