New to Junipers

Drekula

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
IMG_7183.jpeg
I'm a bonsai newbie, killed my first two trees by pruning during a heatwave. After taking a break for a year, I decided to kick things off again with a nursery stock juniper. The nurseryman told me this was a "blue point" juniper and was about 15 years old. I chose to Jin the main trunk to create a deadwood apex. I'm hopeful that it survives a harsh pruning and soft repotting. I still need to do some more work on the deadwood to make it look more natural. I am mostly just proud of my design choices and want to share, but am open to design/care/fertilization advice.

Drekula

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Just an update on this Juniper: It has new growth and appears to be doing well! I won't do any more pruning for at least a year or two.

ZombieNick

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
This one is tough. Right now you have a lot going against you. All your growth is off of three leggy, similar sized branches, originating from the same point on the trunk. I would look to grow this out as much as I could, possibly even putting it back in the ground to grow all new branches. I think, over time, you will be unsatisfied with the design in your mockup, and it is best to correct the issues now than 10 years from now.

I am confident this will survive, our climate here in Socal allows us to work Junipers a little harder than you typically read about, and you did the cutback at an appropriate time.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
View attachment 467478