New to Pines

AJR

Seed
Reaction score
We just bought this what I'm assuming is a pine tree. The tag on it says "Pinus nigra Oregon Green #05 Topiary". I am including Pictures. Any and all advice on how to care of it properly is greatly appreciated! Like how do I prune it or if I prune it. Should I use miracle grow plant food? Truth be told I really have no clue. I am an EMT and I don't have a green thumb. The guy at the nursery said it is maintenance free. But I think he was just trying to make the sale! I am assuming the close-up pictures that is new growth? I really am not sure. CVan I leave it in this pot or do I need to replant it in my backyard? Please help!

Signed

Desperate Dummy

Attachments

• IMG_7458[1].JPG
    IMG_7458[1].JPG
    567.4 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_7459[1].JPG
    IMG_7459[1].JPG
    473.3 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_7460[1].JPG
    IMG_7460[1].JPG
    339.4 KB · Views: 54
  • IMG_7464[1].JPG
    IMG_7464[1].JPG
    257 KB · Views: 48

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
To be honest, trees shaped like this to me are backyard landscaping material.
The foliage is only at the end of every branch, branch placement is.. Unnatural and quite boring.

You could set the branches with wire and make the tree dance a little so to speak, but that's about it for now.
If you'd want to make this into a real bonsai in a pot, you would have to graft new branches onto the trunk and basically start from scratch. My estimation is that something like that would take at least 4 years, if done well.

If you're fine with using it as landscape material: dig a hole and put it in the ground! It will be a satisfying tree over the years (and truth be told: little maintenance needed).

I don't believe that there are trees that can't become bonsai. But this would take some advanced techniques and a long time to develop. It can be challenging to start off like that and usually poses a major hurdle for people starting the hobby.

Potawatomi13