73.4 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_3041.jpg
    IMG_3041.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 90

Tele

Yamadori
Reaction score
I am no expert but.
I would repot and use Kanuma end of summer or next spring. Better wait when it is new.
You get reverse taper at the first branch. Think about making that branch your new top and cut of the top.
It´s a very nice plant but it lacks bit movement and you have to do something about the reverse taper at least.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Whoa on the repotting now!

That’s something you’ll want to do in the late winter early spring, depending where in California your reside. This allows the tree the entire year to recover.

(BTW: Please amend your loacation data to say approximately where in California your are - it makes a big difference on how this azalea needs to be treated. The zone data is helpful, but not entirely in your case.)

A couple observations

Whomever repotted last time seems to have shifted the tree upright. This put the roots on the right of the photos out of the media. That’s not good. They also potted the tree a bit too high. Both should be corrected in your repot. If you can’t exactly match the media (bonsai soil) a complete root wash should be done then too. (Personally I’d root wash and put the tree in straight Kanuma.)

This will put the tree back on a bit more of a slant.

Something you can do right now is try to reduce the branches in the top hamper…. this will help the tree get sun into its interior. Yet I’m not comfortable walking you through this by message. In this case I’d recommend finding a nearby club satsuki person or a professional to help walk you through this procedure.

In the meantime there is something else you can do to help set the roots right yourself and build up the health of the tree. You’ll need some New Zealand long fiber spaghnum moss. One Popular brand is Besgrow. You will also need some media. In this case small kanuma would work. Next: