New Trident Maple Pre-Bonsai

Texasbonsai98

Sapling
Reaction score
I’m pretty new to bonsai and just got this trident maple pre-bonsai and was wondering if anyone had suggestions for early development. I have a few ideas but I’m definitely open to suggestions. Thanks!

Attachments

• 3C32EB41-F960-4FE4-B969-77A24EE038D2.jpeg
    3C32EB41-F960-4FE4-B969-77A24EE038D2.jpeg
    123.6 KB · Views: 288
  • CB01062C-3229-4DED-9A59-29C2EC428C75.jpeg
    CB01062C-3229-4DED-9A59-29C2EC428C75.jpeg
    127.7 KB · Views: 229
  • 240ED59C-9CAE-454D-8CD0-09BF99F21CE7.jpeg
    240ED59C-9CAE-454D-8CD0-09BF99F21CE7.jpeg
    127.9 KB · Views: 218

MrWunderful

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
Get it in good soil asap.
If the nebari is decent, cut the roots. If not, then leave them and air layer later.
let grow for a year then chop nice and low.

Texasbonsai98

Sapling
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply wunderful, what do you mean good soil? Im just trying to get growth from it right now so Im not trying to put it in a bonsai mix yet. I was gonna let it grow and cut it back a little bit above the curve it has, because its decent movement imo.

MrWunderful

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
In my opinion, It should still be in something free draining, it looks like its a nursery mix.

Unless it’s in the ground all of my pre-Bonsai material is still in some sort of (mostly) in-organic soil (mine development mix is pumice, lava, pine bark with left over akadama)

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
This sapling is still a long way from being bonsai. I agree that a trunk chop is best way forward but the first chop won't produce a bonsai.