Newbie Bonsai in the Tropics

gopix

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi, newbie here. Mostly have prebonsai of Pemphis Acidula, Causarina E, a few ficus var, Calliandras and a few JBPs

I have lately received 3 Asahiyama Sakuras, a Deshojo, Satsuki Azaleas and a Trident. When I saw buds swelling I repotted and lightly removed 70% of the nursery soil and placed them in a slightly deeper pot and wired them in. The soil mix is a 70% Akadama/Kanuma/Kiryuzuna (a succulent mix here) and 30% local country's generic River Sand + Pumice + trace Charcoal bits

They have woken up and bloomed last week since they came in their dormant form. Placed a bit of slow release fert with trace elements. They're growing under a Mango tree I trim to shade them only fm noon sun

However I have lurked a bit and found these trees might suffer from the lack of winter chill months.

Saw a hot topic on Fridges (seriously thinking getting a Cabinet type glass frontage Chiller for drinks and place it outside morning sun only.. Anyone from the tropics successfully helped these temperate trees thrive? May I see your notes on your actual experiences etc. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_20230305_172147_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
    IMG_20230305_172147_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
    237.5 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG_20230305_172233_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
    IMG_20230305_172233_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
    141.4 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG_20230305_172336_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
    IMG_20230305_172336_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
    172.9 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:
Reaction score
Hello gopix,
I live in the subtropics. I see Trident's at the local bonsai exhibits, and they take a little bit of colour during winter. JBPs are not common, but I think it's due to the price and relative youth of the bonsai clubs here. There are certainly some grand old JBPs in one fellow's collection. Azaleas are abundant, except they may be cultivars for our climate. I'd expect these cultivars are what your buying. So much diversity!