Newbie Bonsai Question...

bonsai_monkey

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a total beginner when it comes to bonsai so please excuse my ignorance.

I have recently returned from a trip to the the US with a Giant Sequoia seedling. Judging from its size it is approximately one year old and comes packaged in a clear plastic tube with padding around the roots (no soil).

I intend to bonsai this tree and as I understand it, it is still some way off being the right age to do anything with it so my question is in regard to what I do with it in the mean time.

Do I put the seedling straight into a shallow bonsai pot or should it go into a larger/deeper pot until it is ready to bonsai?

Thanks in advance.

j evans

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Welcome! I am sure that you are going to hear put it in the ground or a large pot to grow. The bonsai pots are more for the trees that are mainly finished and need just styling. Good luck!

bonsai_monkey

Seedling
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply.

As you say 'put it in the ground' does that mean it is ok to keep it outside, even though intend it to be an inside bonsai? I live in the UK so we rarely get any extremes of weather. I would keep it on a first floor balcony so it would never be affected by ground frost and summer temps are rarely extreme.

On another point, is ti OK to feed such a young seedling or should I wait until it gets older, if so, how old?

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
First, you need to decide on a final thickness and height for your desired final tree. Do you want a one inch diameter trunk or six inch? How large is your outdoor display area? Good bonsai are planned with a final design in mind.

bonsai_monkey

Seedling
Reaction score
It wont be displayed outside, I was just wondering if it is OK to keep it outside even if I eventually move it inside when it is a bonsai.

I haven't yet given much thought to final design, my question was more to do with what should be done with it now.