Newbie confession...I mutilated a Blue Rug Juniper

BonsaiKen

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I'm new to Bonsai as a grower...I've spent several years and thousands of dollars buying bonsai trees, to use as a decoration, only to kill them one by one.

Overwatering, underwatering, too much sun, not enough sun, busy lifestyle, etc...

For years, I bought at least one new tree every year here at the Kansas State fair. Each year it was the same old man who sold them to me. He asked me how last years trees were doing, and being honest I had to tell him time after time that I had killed them. He was understanding and gave me advice so that the next one would live.

Finally, after maybe 7 years of this, the last time we spoke, he refused to sell me another tree! I was kind of shocked. Wasn't my money as good as anyone else's? What does he care if I kept it alive or threw it away on my way out of the building?

But he did care. And he wouldn't budge. He simply wouldn't sell me another tree.

---

My appreciation for bonsai has grown since those days, and I recently decided to try growing them myself, and really learn about them, the history, the culture, and to finally keep something alive...

Which brings me to today.

I watched a video where a man took a blue rug juniper, and turned it into bonsai material in one sitting.

Of course I was eager to try it, so I went to Walmart and bought one for $5.44.

Needless to say, it wasn't as easy as this master in the video (Peter Chan - Heron's Bonsai England) made it look...and it wasn't a pretty sight to behold.

I chopped off a few branches here and there like I saw in the videos...and then decided to just leave it alone so that it could live.

I've got a lot to learn and have decided to just dive in learning before I kill another tree. I Googled bonsai forum and joined here a few days back.