Newbie From UK

Reaction score
Hi, I am relatively new to Bonsai and I am looking for help and advice on how to look after my 3 bonsai's They are all very different and I love them, though not sure how to proceed.

The first is a Dawn Redwood I have grown from seed. I had a kit gifted to me Christmas 2018 and of all the seeds planted Boxing Day, only the Dawn Redwood has survived and is now 2 1/2 years old. I know it looks dead, but trust me it isn't! It looses it's needles every year and if you look at the close ups photos, you can see the new buds. It is a late developer as it hasn't realised it isn't spring, but is summer already! (I think this is due to it living on the windowsill in my kitchen, I know it should really be outside, but unless it was under my nose every day, it wouldn't have got watered often enough and not have survived this long)

What I would like to know is where to go now? It has been in the large pot since May last year. I have read in my books that ideally it should be planted outside for some time, but I'm not sure I want to do that as I haven't much room in the garden to put it, one of the reasons I put it in a large pot.
20200630_194512.JPG 20200630_194638.JPG 20200630_194527.JPG 20200630_194630.JPG

The second is a Spruce (Picea Glauca 'Albertiana Conica') I purchased from a garden centre in 2018. I can't find a photo of what it was like before I 'attacked it'! but I pruned it and wired the branches after reading my books. I then left it in it's pot in a sheltered place in the garden until this weekend where I put it in the new pot you see in the photos. It is at an angle because of a large thick part of a root, but I quite like it and thought about training it so that it sort of curves back on itself like an 'S' sort of shape? Again advice and suggestions would be welcome.
20200630_194115.JPG 20200630_194139.JPG