Newbie--help me with my indoor grow setup please!

Aquaticjade

Sapling
Reaction score
This is my first time posting, so hello everyone! I am completely new to keeping "bonsais" but please to avoid offending anyone I will use that term loosely....in my situation I mean "tiny potted trees", as my purpose for these within my project is to completely ignore the artistic side. I'm planning on using these in November for a forest-style paludarium build. There are 6 'jacqueline hillier' dwarf elm. I have to keep these babies alive in my makeshift setup until then. I just got them last Wednesday, so 4 days ago. They did come with some yellowing/dead leaves and they shed about 10% of their leaves each during shipping. Since having them ive noticed a few of them are having yellowing/browning leaf tips. Can someone please tell me if this is due to shipping and acclimation or is there something wrong with my grow tub?

I have pebbles in the bottom with half inch of water acting as a giant humidity tray. I've been watering about every 2 days with the exception of one bonsai in the far right corner, for some reason it's soil keeps drying out while the other 5 are moist. The lights are set on an 8hr timer and they are in my attic so it's considerably warmer and more humid than the rest of my house (75-85F). When I plant them in my paludarium I'm just going to pull them out of the pots, brush off as much soil as I can, and plant them in akadama soil and cover with moss. I'm wondering if my lights are too bright? It's an aquatic plant light, but RGB full spectrum 3750 lumens 60 watts, color temperature 6500k.

Thank you for all help and advice, if you need more detailed pics let me know! I bought them on eastern leaf.20210919_111616.jpg20210919_111621.jpg20210919_111627.jpg20210919_111632.jpg

Gatorade

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a