Newbie! Help with Juniper

Diagoras

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi all,
My name is Leon and I am relatively new to Bonsai. My only experience is killing a spruce a couple of years back, but to my defense I live in the wrong climate (Tel Aviv, Israel - Mediterranean climate, very hot and humid).
Yesterday I bought the juniper bush from a bonsai nursery. I was told since juniper is very common in our climate and hardy, it is the correct choice for me. You can see the specimen in the attached photos.
When I chose it because of the interesting trunk and many branches (options for design). I also thought the fact it had some berries was a good sign. I learned it is not such a good sign this morning while reading online sources. I will remove all the berries ASAP.
How would you start? What would you do with the design if you were me? I am not sure what should go, or how far back I should prune the branches. Any kind of help would be appreciated as I am a complete novice.
I was also told to water it a bit every day (as the climate is very warm), but I find the water goes straight through. This led me to believe the pot is crammed with roots. I am not sure how to proceed... I know I am not supposed to re-pot until winter dormancy (over here: February), but it seems to need some soil in there.
Help!

Attachments

• DSC_0055.JPG
    DSC_0055.JPG
    404.9 KB · Views: 95
  • DSC_0056.JPG
    DSC_0056.JPG
    311.8 KB · Views: 96
  • DSC_0062.JPG
    DSC_0062.JPG
    407.6 KB · Views: 95

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy Leon!

If the water runs straight through....
It is Probly not packed with roots...

If it runs off the side, and stalls on top, then goes through, it is likely packed with roots and may need to be repotted..(proper season there?)

Nice material!

Take your time!

Sorce

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone