Newbie here, looking for a little advice on two nursery trees

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Good morning! Over the last few weeks I've been getting back into my love of bonsai, doing all of my reading and researching. Now I've got a couple of trees I'm starting.

I think where I'm getting stuck so far is design. Like I look at the tree and I'm not sure where to go. I guess I'm hoping to get a feel from some of you more experienced folks how you would look at this stock and decide what to do.

With the azalea, I just started trimming until I had a nice looking trunk structure. I'm pleased with how it's looking so far. What would you do next?

20180512_121211.jpg 20180512_123352.jpg

The juniper is a little more intimidating. There are large, crossing branches everywhere. Do I cut them? Wire them? How do I choose? I'd love to see this guy in a semi-cascade style, with that nice heavy trunk.

20180514_120724.jpg 20180514_121703.jpg 20180514_121613.jpg 20180514_121043.jpg

I also made a little video spinning the juniper around.

Vin

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome back to bonsai. Design is the hardest part of bonsai for many (including me). It looks like you have given the azalea a good start. Unfortunately, it looks like you repotted the juniper recently so you shouldn't do anything else to it until next year at the earliest. It would help if you put your location in your profile.

wlambeth

Mame
Reaction score
The one thing you could do now to the juniper is to stake the parallel growing branches in a more upright fashion.
Don't put too much pressure on the branches but definitely put a couple of stakes in the pot and use string to tie the branches to the stake.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thanks for the advice. I'm in Hackettstown, NJ. I'll fix my profile in a minute.

I just pulled the juniper from it's nursery pot. I don't have too many bonsai pots yet so I'll probably put it in a training pot until next year.