Newbie here, unsure what the next step will be.

EthanCox

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi there!
I'm a complete newbie to the art of Bonsai, I've always had an interest in the art and was purchased a "grow your own" kit for Christmas.
So far I've had 4/5 of the Scots Pines germinate which I'm super please with! See the photos attached, what should I do with them as they are potted in the soil that came with the kit and the compostable pots. I'm worried that the pots may end up rotting? Also will I need to move it outside at any point? Currently in winter over here in England with temperatures reaching 0°C/just below.
Thanks!
Ethan

Huggz13

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Welcome!

You can leave them in there for a while.

Then when they get a littler bigger and stronger and get some needles on them, get them into a nursery pot with well-draining organic potting mix and get them outdoors in a good location and just let them grow and develop while keeping them watered and fertilized.

There are two stages of Bonsai - development and refinement.

The first instinct is to go directly to refinement and skip development altogether. That is, take baby trees and wire them, put them in a Bonsai pot, and start trimming and shaping, but that’s not the way to go.
Of course you can do that if you want.
But ideally, to be true Bonsai, they must grow and develop first to thicken the trunk and develop a tapered trunk.

You can grow trees from seed.
Or buy preBonsai (young trees and shrubs) online or from nurseries and start developing them.
Or collect suitable Bonsai material (trees and shrubs with an already thick trunk that are ready for shaping and design) by digging specimens.
Or buy Bonsai material online or from local nurseries.

These videos have helped me immensely with regard to development and getting started.

Bonsai Roadmap

Bonsai Development

Slip Potting

Beginner Guide