Newbie here

Michelle80

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,

I joined this forum last night, the first thread I saw was about Covid newbies 😂
We bought our very first bonsai last weekend, although I’ve always really loved them and my grandfather used to have 3 of them

The bonsai we bought, we don’t actually know anything about it because we only realised when we got home the tag had fallen off, so I’m hoping someone will be able to give us some details from the (hopefully attached photo)?

We have bought the liquid feed, clippers and the mist

We also have 3 indoor cats, which we later found out they are toxic to them, so at the moment the bonsai is on the top of a bookcase until we can find a suitable place the cats can’t get to it.

Oh! We are in East London too, not sure if that makes much difference but I have seen so many forums that don’t like people introducing themselves and going straight into questions.....

Hopefully we’ll be good enough to keep it alive, but also wondering if anyone else thinks it ‘might’ need repotting?

Thanks

Michelle ☺️

Attachments

• CA8DC1D9-67BE-4210-9F58-D617A0E0A3D1.jpeg
    CA8DC1D9-67BE-4210-9F58-D617A0E0A3D1.jpeg
    212.2 KB · Views: 56
  • 85046A4B-F959-47D3-9987-1018EF44A4F4.jpeg
    85046A4B-F959-47D3-9987-1018EF44A4F4.jpeg
    194 KB · Views: 62

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Great Place Settings!

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Michelle80

Seedling
Reaction score
It's an elm and elm leaves are edible.

Sorce

Ahhh brilliant! Thank you for confirming the species for us

Would you say it does need repotting yet?
My fiancé was looking closely at it last night and we’ve noticed it already does have wire around some branches and it seems to be growing ‘outwards’ at the back (is this normal)

We’d love to have known how old it was too, this is definitely going to be a new long term hobby as they are so beautiful!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone