Newbie Soil discussion

eugenev2

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Soil mediums

Hi All,

I’m relatively new to bonsai, why relative, I had some experience a few years back, but this was closer to pot plant experience rather than bonsai, long story short, all the trees died, and I put aside the hobby for another day. Covid came around a provided me with ample time to be back home and so I restarted the hobby.

Now to the real question…Soil mediums

I realize this a very controversial topic and people get very upset and emotional about it (I don’t know why…isn’t all about the trees in the end?), but the part of this discussion that I still cannot grasp is as follows…akadama and the inorganic fast draining mixes is the holy grail of bonsai, organic is the friend of root rot and should be avoided. Does this some it up accurately?

Disclaimer, I realize soil mixes are very dependent on your climate, average temperature, number of freeze/thaw cycles, your ability or inability to water frequent, availability, species of plant and finally cost…did I forget anything?

Now the part I’ve been struggling with is that everything indicates that akadama is the best for my trees, until I tell people my trees are relatively young ie less than 10 years old (although the one hand-me-down might be about 15/20 years old), the tune changes immediately and I’m told that I should rather use inexpensive fast draining organic based mediums. But why if akadama is good should it not be good for start trees as well? If organic is so bad, why is it good for starter trees? And I know everybody tells me rather ask your local experts…well I have…asked two relatively well-known local experts and their views where vastly divergent, one was pro inorganic, and one was pro-organic. Both got really upset with me and my questions. Ironically both ended the conversation with…just look at my trees, see how healthy they are.

So can someone please oh please explain the why?

rockm

Spuds Moyogi