Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello everyone! I am brand new to this whole process. I recently picked up some nursery stock of carpet juniper and boxwood and styled them. What do you think? Both of them started off as bushes, and the boxwood was a bunch of branches sticking out of the soil so I just clipped the ones I didn't like until I got to a single branch I thought had potential. I'm not really sure what I am doing so any advice would be awesome!

Attachments

• PXL_20210621_152724997.jpg
    PXL_20210621_152724997.jpg
    255.6 KB · Views: 55
  • PXL_20210621_152730687.jpg
    PXL_20210621_152730687.jpg
    349 KB · Views: 52

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Welcome to bonsai.
The wiring looks quite neat apart from a few crossing wires but more practice will help you work out how to plan to avoid that. No before pics so it is hard to assess how effective the wiring is. Wires don't make it a bonsai. They are just to help change the shape so not needed unless change is also needed. Many beginners just wire everything for the sake of putting wire on.
A couple f the branches on that juniper look very straight. Withe the bends in the 1st branch I would be following that with some similar bends in all branches for consistency of style and design.

You will surely get a range of opinion on how appropriate it is to style little, skinny trees like these so be aware there are many ways to develop bonsai and a whole range of standards of bonsai. Most beginners start out with skinny little sticks which usually gives us some good practice before graduating to growing trees with some real character and decent trunks.