Newbie with a Question - tree selection

Elfie

Seed
Reaction score
Hello!!

After near a decade of admiring bonsai I've finally taken the plunge into making it a hobby of my own. And while I've amassed a little bit of broad knowledge, I'm just beginning to scratch the surface in terms of applying what I've learned. I'm so happy to have found this forum.

I've been hunting around for an older specimen of bonsai or pre-bonsai to add to my little collection of two. My eye is caught on a Siberian elm but it's a little - unusual.

http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/mo0AAOSwfi9ZrlnR/s-l1600.jpg
http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/OVYAAOSw~gxZrlng/s-l1600.jpg

My question is, would this tree be a good future bonsai? It has no nebari that I can see, no real trunk line, and doesn't conform to any style I've read about. From the seller's description it's a sucker of unknown age collected three years ago. And while I really do like it, would it be a worthwhile tree to pursue?

Thank you for reading.

((Also I apologize if posting pictures of this kind isn't allowed - I couldn't find a place containing general rules for this forum))

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
That is nice material for making a bonsai.

Don't let it be the only thing you are working with. Get some other stuff - cheap junk, whatever interests you.

When I started at this game, I had lots of phobias and misconceptions, some of which were because of 'sage advice'. IMHO, it pays to have stuff with which it is no big loss if things don't work out well. More stuff is the only way you can possibly learn faster.