Newbie's First Juniper

SlayingCondors

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I've been interested in bonsai for a few months and really wanted a juniper.

They're not at all common in nurseries around here, but I was able to find this tree at the weekend.

It was labelled as Juniperus Chinensis 'Blue Compact', but looking at the needles when I got it home I suspect it might be Juniperus Squamata. Can anyone confirm this?

Juniper 1.png Juniper 2.png Juniper 3.png

It's around a metre tall from the top of the pot and is obviously in pretty bad nursery soil.

So far I've just taken the stake out and removed some of the dead material from around the base.

Eventually I'll be cutting it down to at least half its height for styling, but I want to focus on getting it really healthy before I do anything to it. I particularly want to make sure I keep the lower branches healthy so they can be used in a design.

I'm a complete novice, so any advice as to what I should do over the next year would be welcome. When shall I put it in some good, free draining soil?

thomas22

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Look like you have something to work with. The first thing I would do is figure out your tree design. Look at a lot of pictures of trees and bonsais and try to find ones you like with similar trunks. Second, I would chop it above where your design will be next spring. Remove the branches you will not use in the final design so every branch you will use gets lots of sun. By the end of the summer you may be able to do a first styling. The tree looks really healthy which tells me the soil will be fine until the next spring.
You did good by buying a large tree. Its a lot more fun to chop and develop branching than sit around for years and wait for a trunk to grow. Good Luck.

SlayingCondors

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b