Newcomer - Water and Light Help?

Zoid Bacon

Seed
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I was just gifted a small ficus bonsai and I want to make sure I take good care of it. I am very interested in getting into bonsai but I am relatively new to the world of plant care. Here are my main questions:
  1. How much should I water it, and how do I tell if I am watering it too much or too little? Is there some sort of moisture meter I should buy to test the soil?
  2. When does it need fertilizer and how much / what kind?
  3. I have plenty of windows that get good light throughout the day. Should I try to give the tree lots of direct light or just let it get ambient light in the room?
  4. How do I know when it's time to re-pot?
To clarify I will be keeping the tree indoors since I don't have a yard. I am in the american midwest.

Bnana

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Which species is it? There are a lot of ficus species. Most do like light.

You can use a moisture meter, known at tooth pick out match stick. Have it in the soil and pull out when you want to check. Is the end dry? Than you have to water.

It's a plant, fertilise as any other plant. Less on winter when it hardly grows.

If there are lots of roots in the pot clogging it you need to repot or trim the roots.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Pics!

Welcome to Crazy!

Some "gift" fici can be potted in drainless pots in poor soil etc....
That'll determine many things.

I think ambient light away from cold windows is better, but you won't get "bonsaiable" growth without lights or outdoors.

Sorce

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Helps to know your climate. American midwest tells us nothing. You could be zone 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 8 and maybe 9. This affects your total plant care inside or out.

Zoid Bacon

Seed
Reaction score
Wow, lots of great responses! I really am brand new to this so let me give you more information.