Newly acquired Birch. Any help appreciated.

danmartsr

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
My first post here so bear with me on any rookie mistakes.

So last weekend at our Santa Barbara Bonsai Club exhibition and plant sale, I managed to get my hands on this little beauty for $25. Yes, that is a natural hollow trunk. No info other than its a field collected Birch. I’m new to this species. I mostly limit myself to junipers, gingkoes, oaks and olives but could not pass this one up.

I’ve scoured the net looking for info on care and found some direction but they are so general that I would really like some feedback from this group on their experiences with this type of tree.

Things I am going to do:

• Move that right lower branch growing up to the side to show the trunk more (or remove it?)
  • Light pruning on branches with too long internodes (maybe heavy pruning depending on the feedback)
  • Some wiring to get things moving in the right direction once I decide on the design
  • Reduce that left silver dead branch as it is the same height as the main trunk

One club member (whom I respect immensely and has very old wonderful trees) said she has killed every birch she has touched and refused to offer me any advice. LOL

Thoughts on feeding, defoliation and soil is really what I am looking for.

Thanks.

Attachments

• one.jpg
    one.jpg
    198.8 KB · Views: 127
  • trunk-closeup.jpg
    trunk-closeup.jpg
    202 KB · Views: 87
  • two.jpg
    two.jpg
    197.1 KB · Views: 81

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I have had a birch for 2 years and so far it seems to be pretty easy to keep.
I am still a newbie at this myself, and I am still learning about this tree. You should know that they are not considered ideal and are not commonly grown for bonsai.