Next step for seedlings.

Reaction score
I'm very new to bonsai, but not to horticulture. I have two seedlings that I am going to attempt to bonsai. I'm trying to determine when to move them to bonsai pots. And if so what time of year is best. Both seedlings are currently in potting soil.

Seedling 1:
Seedling one is a Cutleaf Japanese Maple that is a seeding that I found under my Japanese Maple this spring. I moved it to a pot and this thing has gone nuts. It has grown a single stem that is 18 inches tall. Should I just top this at my desired height and let it grow another year in the pot or should I pull it, trim the roots and put it in bonsai soil?

Seeding 2:
Seedling two is not really a seedling. It's at least a year old when I dug it in early spring. I potted it and it has done well. Should I repot this one, and trim roots? Or let it go another year?

I need to repot both of these trees as they are in the same large container. And I don't want the roots to intertwine. Do I just move them to separate containers and not mess with the roots and let them grow another year. Or should I get them in bonsai soil so it's easier to deal with the roots.

Normally I would repot or transplant plants in the fall or early spring. What do you guys recommend for these outdoor deciduous trees?

Thanks for any input.

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Welcome to the nut house!

You really don't want to put anything in a bonsai pot until you're ready for the trunk to stop thickening up. Putting it in a container that will let it grow, but train the roots horizontally is a good idea, though.
Some of us build wooden boxes for this, some folks recommend perforated containers like pond baskets or even dollar store collenders. If you have an oversized bonsai pot, bigger than what you feel your finished product will be, that can work. Really, whatever works.