Next steps with Cultivar from this spring

Reaction score
USDA Zone
4a
Hey everyone!

So, i am fairly new to Bonsai - I have a weeping salix caprea that i bought at a store - then i started another willow from cuttings that's doing very well.

Additionally, this spring i dug up four small maples intend on making a forest out of them at some point. I have been growing these guys indoors under lights in terracotta pots in ordinary potting soil and they're doing fine - they're actually pretty vigorous.

My question is this, and i'll attach pictures below - what are my next steps in starting to train these trees? My biggest one already has a good trunk size for what i want to do - the smaller ones will need to catch up a bit. What i'm mostly wondering about is getting branch ramification off the trunk.

What should i be doing right now during the growing season? I'm letting them grow pretty freely - just pinching some growth and removing extra big leaves.

Aditionally, what should i be doing after winter dormancy? Should i chop the trunk and cut back the existing branches? I want to develop more branches total.

Any advice is welcome, but i'll add a disclaimer here: Yes i know bonsai will not grow ideally indoors - i am aware of that, and within the next year will have the ability to keep them outside. Re-stating this is unnecessary, i am aware of it.

The image on the far left is the tree whose trunk i'm happy with.

Also, if anyone could tell me which species these are that would be great, i am not that good at taxonomy.

Thanks!

11695968_10206597411521305_2249964854578394839_n.jpg 10408490_10206597411401302_5935913316704575632_n.jpg 11178252_10206597411161296_8085962171821634543_n.jpg

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Hey Jason,