Noob with a wisteria

Ceijay

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Six years old. Grown from a seed. Should I make it a bonsai???

IMG_0758[1].JPG IMG_0759[1].JPG IMG_0760[1].JPG

Just gonna keep this short and sweet and I'll answer any questions about them in the comments should anyone be interested. Also I have a mountain of questions of my own as usual.

Anyway I don't wanna sound rude or lazy but I'm extremely new to the bonsai art and I would really appreciate someone who would give me a bit of a step by step on where to get started IF these little guys are ready for it. If not I'll try again in another 6 years.

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Depends if you want a mame or a shohin (tiny or small bonsai). Most likely you want it shohin size, and I think it needs to grow a little fatter for that, maybe it's possible to do a first chop now. But im not the best person to give advise about chopping.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
A mame wisteria, what a concept! Flower racimes and compound leafs are on the order of a foot long (dwarf varieties are only about half that). Quite an image!

Chopping is like chopping a tree - cut it between one-third and one-half the ultimate height you want. Put it in full sun, but out of the way in the back of your garden. Trim the runners back in the fall when the leafs start to fall, keeping in mind whether you want to make it look like a tree or twisting on itself. To make it look like a tree you will needed to wire the runner stubs to point them outward, in the directions you want them to go. Repeat, repeat, repeat ...

They remain flexible for quite a long time. So you can put some movement into the trunk now or with guys for a few years yet.

Last edited:

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b