Noobie dwarf Alberta spruce

James W.

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I've been killing little trees for maybe 8 or 10 years now and just lurking here on the Nut sight. Thought maybe I'd let you all beat on me a little.
I have been avoiding DAS like the plague then I accidentally saw this one. Fat trunk in a little pot and in my budget so I brought it home. Now help me. I'm not afraid of killing it, but some small hope for survival would be nice.
DSC_0061.JPG DSC_0064.JPG
I think I want to shorten it and grow a new leader with more taper and some movement. Maybe on on these cuts:
cut1.jpg
The upper cut would remove an ugly bulge and about half the healthiest foliage. The lower cut would get me closer to the branch I think I could pull up for a new trunk. I am considering going even lower.
What think you?

Attachments

• DSC_0003.JPG
    DSC_0003.JPG
    395.4 KB · Views: 69
  • cut1.jpg
    cut1.jpg
    429.5 KB · Views: 87

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Go low!

Sorce

James W.

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I whacked it off last night. Can I go lower and still expect good recovery? I want to chop back to about 1/2 the height I am at, but wonder if I should let it recover for a year or two now. Or maybe go with what it is now? since spruce and pines don't always show a lot of taper.
View attachment 162010 View attachment 162011

Attachments

• DSC_0012.JPG
    DSC_0012.JPG
    225.6 KB · Views: 90
  • DSC_0016.JPG
    DSC_0016.JPG
    244.8 KB · Views: 125

augustine

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
leave it be and get it into good soil next spring (read up on half bare rooting) You can probably still get in one or two more feeds. full sun.

makarovnik

Mame
Reaction score
I would go as low as the first set of branches and choose a new leader from one of those for better taper, but that is me.

I'm no expert either.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You dont have to remove it all straight away..,.