null_void's japanese black pine entry

null_void

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I've been told by several people that pines are not good trees for beginners. I believe them - I had no plans to start working on pines until I had at least a few years of experience under my belt. After all, there are plenty of types of trees out there, right?

But then you had to go and frame this as science. I am not a scientist (unless you count computer science), but I am quite a big fan. This I can do. So I ordered some seeds from treeseeds.com, which arrived last week. As others have reported, they sent an abundance of extra seeds.

Order #1009
Placed on: Jan. 27th 2018
1x Japanese Black Pine Seeds
Select: 100 seeds

Order #1026
Placed on: Jan. 28th 2018
1x Japanese Black Pine Seeds
Select: 100 seeds

seed_packs.jpg

I will only be using the seeds from one of the orders - the other package is for someone else. I'll admit that I was too lazy to count the seeds - not a great trait for someone claiming to like science. ;)

I would like to try a number of growing condition combinations to see what happens. I planted a control group tonight - 36 seeds straight into a tray. I'm following the soil recommendations found here for this group - a mixture of akadama, pumice and lava covered with some coarse sand. I suspect that different soil types might be interesting to experiment with, so if anyone has recommendations that they'd like to see, feel free to mention them and I'll see if I can get my hands on the components.

control_seeds.jpg
control_tray_2018-02-06.jpg