Nursery Juniper Mid-Summer: To Repot or Wait?

MidMichBonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello all. I'm relatively new to bonsai (within the last 4 years) and I just picked up a wonderful procumbens at the a local nursery for $4. That's right...styled this tree would have been north of $40.

My question is, given that it's June and I live in Michigan, should I repot immediate to get it into a bonsai medium or leave it in it's nursery pot and repot this spring. I have heard mixed opinions and could go either way. Of course my main concern is health. Is it more healthy to get the roots into a medium that will promote more fine feeder roots and reduce the risk of rot or to wait until the optimal repot time in the Spring?

Thanks in advance for any advice that comes in.

John Ruger

Shohin
Reaction score
I've left nursery junipers in the containers they came in for a couple of years with no problems.

Paulpash

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Let it recover if styled. Repot in Spring 2015.

If not styled and healthy repot next Spring.

If the medium is a good open one then as John says it can stay in that til it's ready for a pot.

You have the right idea: " Of course my main concern is health" so just be guided by that factor. Remember not to remove a lot of foliage when you style as Juniper suffer really badly when you remove over 50% of the foliage.

This has some great info for Junipers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISdGcQ93Ey4

Last edited:

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I would leave it be and repot it next spring. I wouldn't even style it at this point.
I always prefer to get the repotting done as soon as possible (the next spring) because trees in nursery pots generally are not in very good soil and they are often getting root bound/crowded in the pot.

MidMichBonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b