Nursery Stock Shohin Juniper

sunspire

Seedling
Reaction score
This is my first time pruning/wiring cheap nursery stock. How did I do?

Also, which front is better, cascade going left with more deadwood visible, or cascade going right with trunk leaning toward viewer?

Attachments

• _MG_5766.jpg
    _MG_5766.jpg
    129.7 KB · Views: 176
  • _MG_5768.jpg
    _MG_5768.jpg
    139 KB · Views: 170
  • _MG_5782.jpg
    _MG_5782.jpg
    148.6 KB · Views: 141
  • _MG_5784.jpg
    _MG_5784.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 174

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Wiring looks good! I think you can play around with the pad placement a little to make the composition a bit more balanced.

I like the first picture front myself.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Agree that wiring and pruning appears to be good.
As to which side I also prefer the first picture with cascade going right but we can't see depth in 2D photos so there's no clues for us on what front to back movement it has. Side shots can give some clues but usually need to see a tree in person to be able to properly judge 3D movement.

With some experience I suspect you will need to take good care that the upper section does not suppress the lower section too much. I find the need to prune much harder in upper sections of cascades or the lowest sections lose vigour quickly.

trigo

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Way better than my first time styling a juniper. But i think your cascading branch needs more movement, too much straight and horizontal.

JesusFreak

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
I think over time you’ll want to lose the cascading branch. Great job so far though!!

Adamski77

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8/9