Nursury citrus tree for bonsai

maroun.c

Omono
Reaction score
Saw this citrus tree in nursery today.
Base and trunk look very nice but graft is mid trunk and although it has no bulge the difference between the two parts is very obvious.
Would you go for it for the base and live with the flawed trunk ?
Screenshot_20200904-105937_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20200904-105917_Gallery.jpg

Mapleminx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Personally I don’t like the really solid line with the slight bulge between the two tones. I’m not experienced and still a total newb but I am wondering if maybe a bit of carving later on can just help to distract from it?

@sorce seems to be a bit of a guru, any idea?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Citrus in general can be difficult to keep as potted plants. Might be better in your climate but I would pass on that one.

Rgawed

Seed
Reaction score
I've kept citrus in plastic whiskey barrels for 12 years (zone 9a )... just sayin.

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I enjoy citrus trees... and see NO problem with “containerizing” them.. I just personally don’t grow them well. 🤣.
I've kept citrus in plastic whiskey barrels for 12 years (zone 9a )... just sayin.
Absolutely! They like it in zones like this! I’m in 5a, and I know people with enormous lemon and orange trees thar live 6 months indoors.. just window light.. i PERSONALLY suck at citrus.

This is a mandarin orange.. sprouted in March.E69A8C26-107F-43B4-9AF0-FC1B0B871A71.jpeg

As to the “Go for it for the base and live with flawed trunk inquiry.”..

...if I had the means (disposable income) I would buy it and JUST use the rootstock.. develop some of those little chutes and see what that top is grafted TO... this would be a long term project, balancing/transitioning to your new canopy..

If I was considering using the top integrated into my overall design, as it looks to be a fairly pricy investment..... I personally might pass.