Oak Collection Question

Bpswieringa

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I am completely new to bonsai (inspired by a seed gift box and a couple bonsai shows) I have access to some land from which to collect but it is mostly oak and white pine. I'm picking up that oak is slow and difficult to bonsai. I'm Eyeing these trees with a base of about 3 to 4 in. (To collect in the spring) Am I dreaming to think that I might be able to keep these alive and practice on them?

Attachments

• IMG_20230110_152948939.jpg
    IMG_20230110_152948939.jpg
    226.2 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_20230110_152915595.jpg
    IMG_20230110_152915595.jpg
    186.6 KB · Views: 85

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Bad idea🤨! Until horticulturally able to give proper survival care. Once having decent idea of desired style and proper pruning/cutting back techniques could start cut backs IN PLACE. Digging should only come after able to give proper care. Be aware trees this size trunks require large heavy root balls at collection and large growing containers after carried home. Bare rooting is negative idea when collecting.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I would look for oaks with smaller leaves, like English oaks.
But as potawatomi says, it might be a good idea to get a couple nursery plants and try to work those first. Or dig a couple of course, you can only get experience by doing things. But.. Leave the good ones for later! It would be a shame if you dig the best trees now and have them fail.
It's always good to get some experience by trial and error.

Reactions: AJL

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone