Obligatory Cherry Fukinigashi

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
I’ve got a cherry potensai that I’ve been successively thread-grafting with an ornamental variation. This Spring I suddenly discovered that the tree is almost 50% vertically dead so all of my grafts on one side (the whole length) were wasted effort. But I still have the other half healthy and the living portion has furled rather nicely against the deadwood the whole way up. The trunk is pretty much straight as an arrow (unfortunately) and it is too thick (4 cm. diameter) to put any serious bends in it. I have no choice but to accept what I’ve got and to get down to finding a design that will put those lovely flowers to good use. My problem is that I have no Fukinigashi experience and not even a vision in my head what to do with it. I LOVE THOSE BLOSSOMS and I want to do something with it! I just don’t know what. If the trunk had some movement it would be easy, but ………

Help:
Pictures? Drawings? Theory? Encouragement? Internet Link?

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
I assume this nest of rats is unmonitored & suicidal, running full-speed towards a tree.

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
Well we can't help what we can't see... ;-)
Are you pretending not to understand the question? No interest (or experience) in a bonsai with growth on one side alone?

* “The trunk is pretty much straight as an arrow” ... I wonder what that means? It must be Greek for “exaggerated S bends”.

* “ … the tree is almost 50% vertically dead so all of my grafts on one side (the whole length) were wasted effort. But I still have the other half healthy and the living portion has furled rather nicely against the deadwood the whole way up.” … No idea what that could mean. Greek again (I suppose) meaning it’s broken in half with the crown lying limp on the ground and foliage growing at all angles from every surface.