ok, what am i doing here.... i need some direction with my ficus b. (w/pic)

Squeaker

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
ficus.jpg

ok, i really dont know what im trying to do here. what i do know is that im going about it ALL WRONG! it started out as 3 roughly 2 foot tall trees, now its down to about 9" at the tallest point. every time it grows a new shoot down lower, i trim it above that spot. im also trying to fuse the trunks. the 2 trunks on the sides will hopefully be branches one day but nothing is fused as of yet.... i dont know how tall to make the main trunk to the first branch, or.... really how to do anything with this plant lol. currently, the main trunk (the cluster of 3) is about 3 inches tall.

i know im not doing this right and its my first attempt at making my own bonsai instead of just buying one. i only have one other bonsai, a boxwood. so really, i dont know what im doing and i need some clear direction and suggestions. its in a big pot now, but will be transfered when it look more.... bonsai-ish.

and please, be polite :rolleyes: i know im not doing this properly, i just need some helpful suggestions. thank you!

ps- i posted the wrong pic and cant remove it for some reason..... the one that says attatched thumbnails is what it used to look like when i first wrapped the trunks. the other one is its *ahem* current state.

Attachments

• ficus.jpg
    ficus.jpg
    192.8 KB · Views: 67
Last edited:

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Well, it looked like it was going well, until you pruned it :cool:

Why exactly did you prune it? Are there now branches that don't even have leaves? In order to really get the trunks to fuse you'd have to let it grow unrestricted for at least a year, maybe even more, in a non-tropical climate. Fusing takes a looong time to look decent.

Squeaker

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Well, it looked like it was going well, until you pruned it :cool: